Skip to content
July 17, 2010 / R

9 July, foundations

I’m only two weeks behind, that’s not so bad… Urg.

Work on the Old College quad project. They’ve dug down to the old foundations, laid in the end of the 19th century, and are very gently excavating around them looking for pipe systems without disturbing them too much. It’s been pouring down recently, and when I walk past in the morning, the workers are gently sponging the puddles away. It reminds me of an Australian film called Innocence that it took me three days  to get through on dvd – one of the scenes I had to put on pause and run away from involved the careful, professionally tender removal of human remains from a graveyard that would be paved over into a highway.

Strange connection, that, because one of my coworkers tells me that a couple of skeletons were found here during a preliminary excavation. Fin de siècle Jimmy Hoffas, maybe.

Leave a Reply

