Skip to content
June 12, 2010 / R

2 June, shortcuts

I’m not actually a big fan of Starbucks. I get a filter coffee or an americano, neither of which is great, but beats the instant crap available in the breakroom by parsecs. It’s a stop on my way to work two or three times a week solely because the staff is really nice. When I had a horrible job that I finally fled despite the lingering recession, buying a cup of coffee at this particular Starbucks was the only time anyone would treat me like a sentient being for the next nine hours. It was my shortcut to human interaction.

I detour through this courtyard on the way to and from work, even though it doesn’t cut any time off the journey. It’s just a break from noise and exhaust and crowds, and if I’ve got a few minutes, I lean on the stone balistrade and breathe.

Leave a Reply

